Savannah Economic Development Authority (SEDA)

Georgia law relating to the appointment of members to SEDA provides that the Board of Directors shall consist of nineteen members who shall serve for a period of five years and shall be eligible for reappointment. Appointments shall be made in rotation by the Mayor and Aldermen of the City of Savannah (City), the Board of Directors (SEDA), and the Chatham County Commissioners (County). Each body having a right of appointing a member to the Authority shall make its appointment for terms expiring January 7.

The entity, which appointed a Board member whose term is expiring, will not necessarily have the ability to fill that vacancy.

Ga. Laws 1955, p.170, provides that if any appointing authority shall fail to fill any vacancy to be filled by it **within thirty days** following the creation of the particular vacancy, then such vacancy shall be filled by SEDA.

Since there are 19 board members and 3 appointing authorities (City, SEDA, & County), each authority typically has 6 board members that they appointed (18 total) and the 19th appointment rotates each year between the 3 authorities.