



JULY 14, 2022, 12:00 p.m. - WORKSHOP and CITY MANAGER'S BRIEFING

CITY GOVERNMENT

OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS OF THE MAYOR AND ALDERMEN

SAVANNAH, GEORGIA

The work session and City Manager's briefing was held at <u>12:01 p.m.</u> Mayor Johnson recognized Alderman Purtee to offer a prayer.

PRESENT: Mayor Van R. Johnson, II, Presiding

Alderwoman Kesha Gibson-Carter, At-Large, Post 1

Alderwoman Alicia Miller Blakely, At-Large, Post 2

Alderwoman Bernetta B. Lanier, District 1

Alderman Detric Leggett, District 2

Alderwoman Linda Wilder-Bryan, District 3

Alderman Nick Palumbo, District 4, Vice-Chairman

Alderwoman Dr. Estella Edwards Shabazz, District 5, Mayor Pro-Tem

Alderman Kurtis Purtee, District 6

ALSO, PRESENT:

City Manager Joseph A. Melder

Chief of Staff, Daphanie Williams

City Attorney Bates Lovett

Clerk of Council Mark Massey

Deputy Clerk of Council Margaret Fox

Workshop Agenda Items

1. Boards, Commissions, and Authorities

UPDATED Available Appointments to Boards-2021 as of 07-08-2022.pdf

Mayor and Council reviewed the lists and made recommendations for reappointment or appointment to each Board/Commission. The designated candidates will be placed on the regular meeting agenda for approval:

Chatham County – City of Savannah Land Bank Authority (four-year term):

- Tomeca McPherson(D3) Wilder-Bryan/Leggett
- · Laureen M. Boles(D1) Lanier/Gibson-Carter & Miller Blakely

<u>Coastal Region Metropolitan Planning Organization Citizens Advisory Committee [CAC] (two-year term):</u>

- Darnell L. Johnson (D6) Miller Blakely/Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz
- Yolandra Shipp (D3) Palumbo/Wilder-Bryan
- · Armand Turner reappointment unanimously

Keep Savannah Beautiful (three-year term):

- · Patricia C. McLeod(County) Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz/Wilder Bryan
- Cheri Dean(D1) Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz/Wilder Bryan
- Steven C. Morgan(D2) Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz/Wilder Bryan
- Debra Caldwell(D2) Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz/Wilder Bryan
- · Kelly Morris(Garden City) Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz/Wilder Bryan

Savannah Airport Commission (five-year term):

- · Darnell L. Johnson(D6) Miller Blakely/Lanier
- Stephen Green(D2) Leggett/Wilder-Bryan
- · Sabrina E. Kent(County) Gibson-Carter/Miller Blakely

Savannah-Chatham Council on Disability Issues (two-year term):

- Darnell L. Johnson(D6) Miller Blakely/Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz
- Montana L. Tohm(D1) Lanier/Palumbo
- · Stanley M. Walthour II(D5) Wilder-Bryan/Leggett
- · Jessica Auner(D6) Purtee/Palumbo

Traffic Calming Committee (three-year term):

- Pastor Marsha Buford (Mayor Johnson's appointee) Mayor Johnson/Wilder-Bryan
- David Minor (Alderwoman Miller Blakely's appointee Post 2) Miller Blakely/Mayor Pro-Tem Dr. Shabazz

2. FY22 Mid-Year Financial Update

Exhibit 1: FY22 Mid-Year Financial Update.pptx

City Manager Melder gave an overview of the mid-year financial status of the City. Senior Finance Director David Maxwell and Director of Management & Budget Melissa Carter gave the PowerPoint presentation. The Governmental Accounting Standards Board has changed the term Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) to Annual Comprehensive Financial Report (ACFR).

Mayor and Council discussed the City's financial update. Including, but not limited to, the following topics were discussed:

- contributions to pension fund, retirees cost of living adjustment.
- percentage of grant funds received.
- status of any/all proceeds received from the Enmarket Arena including parking revenue.
- city expenses per district, service increase in proportion to tax base, service delivery being equitable across the city.
- the staff addition of a diversity officer.
- all aspects of the millage rate was discussed; instituting a PILOT (Payment In Lieu of Taxes) or ordinances for collecting taxes from non-profit agencies; and extending bond issuance for local businesses.

Mayor Johnson adjourned the Workshop at <u>1:42 p.m</u>.

A video recording of the workshop can be found by copying and inserting the link below in your url:

https://savannahgovtv.viebit.com/player.php?hash=UV3IItBaNfWv

Mark Massey, Clerk of Council

Date Minutes Approved: _____

Signature:	

