

Meeting Begins at 10:00am

November 18, 2019 City Council Workshop

SAVANNAH CITY GOVERNMENT SUMMARY/FINAL MINUTES

COUNCIL WORK SESSION & CITY MANAGER'S BRIEFING

November 18, 2019 – 10:00 a.m.

The work session of the City Council was held at 10:00 a.m. in the 2nd Floor Media Room of City Hall.

PRESENT: Mayor Eddie W. DeLoach, Presiding

Mayor Pro-Tem Carolyn H. Bell

Alderman Julian Miller, Chairman of Council

Alderman Brian Foster, Vice-Chairman of Council

Alderman Bill Durrence, District 2

Alderman Tony Thomas, District 6

ABSENT: Alderman Van R. Johnson, II, District 1

Alderman John Hall, District 3

Alderwoman Dr. Estella E. Shabazz, District 5

OTHERS PRESENT:

City Manager Pat Monahan

Assistant City Manager Heath Lloyd

Assistant to the City Manager Bret Bell

City Attorney Bates Lovett

Assistant City Attorney William Shearouse

Clerk of Council Mark Massey

Assistant to Clerk of Council Brittany Hunsaker

Mayor DeLoach called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

Workshop Agenda Items

1. Interviews for Metropolitan Planning Commission (MPC) and Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals (Board Appointments)

The Mayor and Aldermen conducted interviews for board openings on the Metropolitan Planning Commission (MPC) and the Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals. Upon conclusion of the interviews, consensus was obtained to consider the following nominations/appointments on the regular meeting agenda:

- · Chatham-Savannah Authority for the Homeless Nineteen-Members (one opening):
 - Nomination of Vernon Jones to Replace Patrick Geoghegan to the Chatham-Savannah Authority for the Homeless for a Four-Year Term Ending December 31, 2023.
- Downtown Savannah Authority Five-Members (one opening):
 - Nomination of Kevin Finley to Replace Charles (Chuck) Feagin to the Downtown Savannah Authority for a Four-Year Term Ending May 31, 2023.
- Metropolitan Planning Commission Twelve-Members (one opening):
 - Nomination of Karen Jarrett to be Reappointed to the Metropolitan Planning Commission for a Three-Year Term Ending December 31, 2022.
- Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals Seven-Members (two openings):
 - Nomination of Hunter Hall and Michael Condon to Replace Eli P. Karatassos and Neil Dawson to the Savannah Zoning Board of Appeals for a Three-Year Term Ending December 31, 2022.
- Savannah Economic Development Authority (one opening):
 - Nomination of Greg Parker to be Reappointed to the Savannah Economic Development Authority for a Five-Year Term Ending December 31, 2024.

2. Litigation, Real Estate, and Personnel

Alderman Durrence moved to recess the Work Session to conduct a closed Executive Session for the purpose of discussing personnel, real estate, and litigation. Alderman Foster seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

The executive session began at 12:12 p.m. All members were present, except Alderman Johnson, Alderman Hall and Alderwoman Dr. Shabazz.

Alderman Miller moved to adjourn the closed executive session, Alderman Durrence seconded. Hearing no objections, the closed executive session was adjourned.

There was no action taken in the closed executive session which ended at 12:18 p.m.

3. Review of Agenda

Following a lunch break, the City Council reviewed the agenda.

The work session adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

Mark Massey, Clerk of Col	uncil
Date Minutes Approved: _	
Initials:	

